RT 2008 – Pittsburgh and Beyond fantastic!

My memory is for shit, so names, dates, places, and events may be different from anyone else’s recollections and I refuse to take responsibility for depleted brain cells. 🙂 BTW – I’m a hugger, so I think I hugged nearly every person I either met or was introduced to, so for all of you with personal space issues, I apologize after the fact, and next year, just avoid me. LOL. And to my BFFs, thanks for knowing me and loving me anyways. You all have no idea how much you mean to me! (Okay, done with the pre-apologies, lol)

RT 2008 – The beginning, somewhere in between, and the end. 🙂

Holy Schmoly! What a trip RT was this year. First let’s start with how I was treated like a domestic terrorists at the airport leaving Kansas City. LOL. My BFF Michele Bardsley (she flew in from OK and met me in KC) and I had our flight delayed on United, so they, being the generous souls they are moved us over to a Midwest flight (and thank heavens or we would have spent the first day of RT in Chicago!). But, because of the airline move, our luggage was searched top to bottom, then our carry on crap was ravaged, then we got a full body massage from the security guard. I swear I’ve had less thorough exams at my gynecologists. Luckily they didn’t bring out the dogs to sniff our persons or anything, and after it was all over, I gave the uniformed chick at $5 tip and told her to keep up the good work. LOLLOL.

The plane we got on was small, like I could lay across the aisle and touch both sides of it small. Really made me nervous, but it was a direct flight (yeah!) and we got there an hour ahead of schedule. That Pittsburgh airport, sheesh (I know you all know what I’m talking about). I thought I was going to have to get a doctor’s note to be excused from the long, arduous walk down to their train thingy that takes you to the baggage claim area. I was huffing and puffing so badly I could barely smoke my cigarette when I got out the front doors! hehe. (Bad Renee).

Da da dah! Jose Lugo to the rescue. He came and picked us up (along with his lovely friend Megan) at the airport (such a sweety! and he gave us chocolate, for which I will be leaving him good shit in my will — future reference there, Jose) and drove us to the Hilton. OMG I was so excited to see my other BFFs Dakota Cassidy, Terri Smythe, Jaynie Ritchie, and Robin (in the bar of course) when we got there! These are some of the coolest chicks evah! (Double chins or not, lol). If you’d only lay off the booze, chicas. (kidding — sort of — LOLLOL). I think we checked in and took our bags up to the room somewhere along this timeline, but can’t remember when. I shared a room with Ter and Michele. I sleep like the dead so their snoring wasn’t a problem… hehe. (To tell the truth, I have no idea if they snored. I sleep like the dead!)

The whole of RT was a whirlwind blur. Panels, snarks, fans, friends, balls, dancing, shopping, leg cramps, etc. LOL.

MaryJanice Davidson – Soooo f*cking nice! I don’t care what Dakota and Michele say… LOL. It was like finding out your teacher is a real live person. Also, her BFF Jessica is awesome.  Oh, and MJD said I had gorgeous eyes, which of course, since I’m keeping score, put her way ahead on the leader board. AND she bought breakfast for Michele and I, so again, waaayy ahead on the leader board. LOL. L.A. Banks – omg, tall, beautiful, and funny. Plus, since I’d bought her a cup of coffee, we’re like BFF’s now. (p~~ D!) Monique Patterson – senior editor for St. Martin’s Press – wow, like she was just wow. I managed to talk to her (after a friendly push – because I’m a major chicken ass) and then felt sick after words, LOL. She was completely lovely and approachable, but I rambled (because that’s what I do when I’m nervous) and felt like a total goof. 

Let’s see, there were some awesome peeps hanging out in the smoking area where I set up my home away from home, lol. Julie and her mom, Morgan Hawke, Delilah, Barbara, Goeff, Ron, and Jay. Also, met some new BFFs Lori and Space, a husband and wife team who are unrivaled! They totally rocked the Casbah.  Nanchez and Patricia! You both are da bomb!!

Oh! And I had a fan. Woot! Woot! LOL. A lovely lady named Char who has actually read both Renee George books and Hannah Beckham books, which just totally made my whole year, since I wasn’t completely unknown. Nearly, mind you, but not completely.

The ebook signing was cool, if not a little disorganized, but I give the RT ladies total props for trying hard. I loved seeing Shara Cooper again and discussing the hot guys of BBC.  Shara, me and you, like this. (imagine me crossing my fingers indicating solidarity.) lol. And Woot! Finally met Selena Illyria. A totally rockin’ chick. Loved her. Jade Buchanan, just as wonderful and full of personality. She’s like major cool. I kissed Sahara Kelly every time I saw her. Come on! Like who wouldn’t!  A late arrival, Kira Stone met all my expectations. After knowing her via Internet for the last several years, it was amazing meeting her in person. Also, another highlight was meeting my publisher Margaret Reilly and her husband, Bill. Love them! I didn’t get to visit much, but did manage to give them both hugs, lol.

The print book fair went awesome for my buds Dakota and Michele. I’m uber proud of both of them!! I’m grateful to J. C. Wilder for introducing me to the Jennifer Dunne “yeep.” LOL. Both ladies were fantastic, btw. To all the FAR chicks, you all just get cooler every time I meet you! Cici and Erika – two fantastic sisters who know how to work the shoes! And Linda! Lovely Linda. She won a wallpaper from me last month and was seriously working the mug. LOL.

I apologize completely if I left anyone out. Everyone I met made an impression on me and made this RT even better than last year, but I’m terrible with names!

On the way home, I was treated like a domestic terrorist again, only this time in Pittsburgh. Stupid me, I wore a shirt with a metal circle clasping fabric between my boobs. I couldn’t get through the metal detector without setting it off. I offered just to take off my shirt, lol. But noooo. Instead, I got my ass patted…several times (damned riveted jeans!) Had my boobs felt up, not once, not twice, but three times! I’m like day-yam! Michele says I just have one of those faces that make people suspicious. Either that or they just want to touch all that is ME.

I’m going to post pictures soon!

Hugs and love,

Renee

Explore posts in the same categories: family, fiction, fun, life, Renee George, Romantic Times, writing

15 Comments on “RT 2008 – Pittsburgh and Beyond fantastic!”

  1. emmaraygarrett Says:

    Definitely sounds like a good time. And hey, I bet they just wanted to feel you up, LMAO!

  2. Robin Says:

    Emma is right! LOL I think they just wanted to feel you up. Hey, I don’t think I got any feels in. *g* I will make a note for next year to feel Renee George. It was so nice seeing you.

  3. quinjames Says:

    Oh that is so not fair. Everytime I fly, I offer the hunky security guards money to feel me up and none of them ever do *pout*

    dude get the pictures up – I wanna see, I wanna see now. You know I don’t do the patience thing real well.

    miss you babe,
    your bff

  4. reneegeorge Says:

    Omg! Emma Ray, I had a great time! Wish you had been there, darling. 🙂
    Hugs,
    Renee

  5. reneegeorge Says:

    Robin! LOL, Looking forward to the groping next year. hehe. Email me woman!

  6. reneegeorge Says:

    Jaynie – Fly with me next time, I’ll get us both felt up. Hell, they’ll be tipping you, LOL.
    Miss you lots and lots!

    And dude, the pictures are going up now. *grin*

    your bff back at ya.


  7. dude? Aren’t you a domestic terrorist? I don’t wanna hang out with ya unless you can domestically terrorize. LMAO

    Awesome time, my friend 🙂

    See ya in May!

    Smooches,
    DC 🙂

  8. reneegeorge Says:

    My husband thinks I’m domestically terrifying…does that count? LOLLOL.


  9. Renee! Big Hugs! LOL. It was fantastic meeting you. *Grin* We had fun. 🙂 Did you ever get the signs on camera?

  10. Lena Austin Says:

    I know fer shure they wanted to feel you up, Legs. Now I’m sorry I wasn’t there.


  11. LOLOL. As I witness to Renee’s er … searches (or were they dates?) … both were ladies. That last one really like R’s boobs.

    I had such a great time at RT. Miss you all!

  12. reneegeorge Says:

    Selena – Big hugs back! You cute little thing, you. 🙂 Hell, I’m lucky I got anything on camera, lol. So, no.

    Lena – Oy! It was a great time. I’m sorry you weren’t there also. Missed ya. 🙂

    Michele – And you just let them do it to me! Ya stood there and watched. *sigh* And you chuckled about it as well. LOL. I miss you too, scarecrow. 🙂 But I will be seeing you in less than two weeks, so woot woot! And no airport security this time, so you’ll just have to feel me up yourself when I get there (traveling just wouldn’t be the same without it. lol)


  13. Yep, I agree, we definitely just wanted to feel you up! LOL! I’m glad I got my Renee squeezes in! I’m so glad I got to see you again 🙂 You rock! *squee* Renee thinks I’m cool! LOL!

  14. Char a smutslut Says:

    Whoo Hoo,
    A famous author well really Two famous authors remembered me!
    and I got to hug her Twice !! I hugged Hannah too LOL
    By the end of the day i was hopping i still smelled OK ’cause I hugged alot!
    I let all those young things and (some slightly older things) chase after the cover models. Unless it was John, Chris or Fred they were HOT!
    I went after the stars!! and they were everywhere!
    I took an Ellora’s Cave t-shirt and had 75 to 100 of my new Close friends sign it!!
    It was way COOL
    Renee was that you at the airport chasing that hot airport gaurd down yelling you forgot to check in my Bra??
    Keep up with the great Hot books!
    your fan a smutsluts Char

  15. Char a smutslut Says:

    lol that should proof read first for spelling errors!


Leave a Reply

