Life, reading, just stuff in general…

Well, it’s been a while since I’ve blogged. It’s not you, it me. 🙂 No, I’m not breaking up, lol. Just doing the tortured artist thing and hiding out in the cave, otherwise known as my home.

It’s been storming like crazy here in Missouri. Last night, the lightning brilliantly illuminated the sky as the thunder cracked and rumble, basically scaring the crap out of my 13 year old son. 🙂 The worst part is, the electricity kept going off and on (making it difficult to work on the computer), and it screwed up my satellite reception. Oh, the crosses we must bear! lol.

Let’s see, I’ve been reading some interesting books this spring:

Bobbie Faye’s Very (very, very, very) Bad Day, by Toni McGee Causey – this book is a riot! Smart, funny, and packed with action. I highly recommend going out and getting it, like today. You won’t be disappointed.

From Dead to Worse by Charlaine Harris – I loved this adventure with Sookie Stackhouse. Charlaine Harris never lets me down for great reading.

Because Your Vampire Said So by Michele Bardsley – Yes, Michele is one of my BFF’s, but it doesn’t stop me from being a fan. All hail Queen Patsy! Oh to be 40 and cellulite free. I’d travel to Broken Heart just for that. Funny, smart, with minor heart breaks along the way, and a very happy ending.

Blood Noir by Laurell K Hamilton – There’s been a lot of bad reviews for this book, and while I would have wanted more, I’m completed hooked on Anita Blake and her wacky world. It’s sort of like being addicted to a soap opera. Even when I don’t like where the story line might be headed in one book, I stick around because I love the characters and keep hoping things will get on the right track for them. So, I suggest to those who are unhappy with where things are at for Anita and feel strongly enough to want to vent publicly, shut up about it and quit buying the books. Sheesh. I, for one, will be buying them until she quits writing them. Because…no matter where the storyline is at, I can’t put the books down until I’m finished, and I feel a little lost and sad that I won’t be able to read more of these characters for another year. Blood Noir was not an exception. I had it finished in 5 hours. *sigh* No more Anita and the boys fix until next year.

Beg for Mercy by Toni Andrews – I love, love Mercy, and the book had me begging Toni Andrews for more in the series.

Angel of Mercey by Toni Andrews – I got more. LOL. The second book was really great. We get to see her best friend develop a little more. Part of the story line had me thinking I might have to track Toni down and whack her, but she resolved it nicely. I highly recommend both these books as the beginning of what I hope is a long running series.

Well, that wraps it up for books, although I’ve read several others, those are the ones that really stick with me.

The state of Television Programming:

WTF is wrong with the networks?? Moonlight – cancelled, Men in Trees – cancelled, Shark – cancelled, New Amsterdam – cancelled, Bionic Woman – cancelled, Women’s Murder Club – cancelled, Journeyman – cancelled, Las Vegas – cancelled… and the list goes on. If I could get everyone to boycott these “staple” networks and start watching TNT, USA, and Scifi original series instead, I would. These asshat programmers need a kick in the tushy.

Movies –

Loved the new Indiana Jones movie! Woot, woot! It was so much fun to revisit old characters with new character suprises thrown in. Took my son and two of his best friends to see it. We had a blast.

Can’t wait for Hellboy 2, Hancock, The Love Guru, Don’t Mess with the Zohan, Sex in the City: The Movie, The Incredible Hulk, The Happening, The Dark Knight, The X-Files sequel, and The Mummy: The Tomb of the Dragon Emporer.

Life:

My son’s playing baseball this summer (as usual), we had two games last week, four games this week, then the schedule starts becoming manageable. We went camping over Memorial weekend. It was relaxing, even with 5 thirteen year old boys along for the ride. lol. My nephew got married at a blues club, my neice is getting married in two weeks in the same place I got married 18 years ago (my father’s front yard). It’s a nice homage to my dad who passed away from cancer two years ago. It’ll be the first time I’ve been back there since we buried him, so I’m a little stressed about that, but I can handle it (I hope). My husband has been diving the midwest. It seems like he’s off on an excursion every other week. We’ll be going to my husband’s family reunion in Iowa over the fourth of July. Should be a good trip. We’ll see. *grin* Oh, and in August…I turn the big 4-0.  *le sigh*

Cons coming up:

Well, I can’t make it to Lori Foster’s. *sigh* Just not enough money or time. But, I’m going to Conestoga July 25-27, which should be a lot of fun. Michele and Dakota will be there as panelists. My husband is coming along, but he’ll be diving Tenkiller Lake while I’m doing my thing. 🙂

Speaking of Dakota and Michele, they are both doing a signing in Dallas, TX on July 11, 2008. I’m going to try and get there for it. It will just all depend. July is adding up to one busy month!

Well, that’s it for now…

How’s your spring (moving into summer) going?

Hugs,

Renee

 

Explore posts in the same categories: birthdays, Book Launch, Broken Heart, Charlaine Harris, Dakota Cassidy, family, fiction, Friends, fun, Michele Bardsley, news, Renee George

5 Comments on “Life, reading, just stuff in general…”

  1. Catt Says:

    Whew! i got tired just reading about you having 5 thirteen yr old boys at one time! when is your biethday? mine is aug 13th. hugs,
    miss talking with you
    Catt

  2. lexxiecouper Says:

    Oh, man, I LOVED the new Indy flick (I had to had to had to go see it. It was my first outing sans Chickpea, who is eight months old next week! Can you believe it!) Can’t wait for any and all of the movies you lists (maybe Hancock or The Dark Knight the most. Hmmmm). As for telly shows, don’t get me started. I still can’t forgive Fox for doing what they did to Firefly. They better keep their mitts of House and Boston Legal or I may be forced to draw blood!

    Miss you heaps, Lady. *sigh*

  3. Renee George Says:

    LOL Catt! It wasn’t nearly as bad as it sounds. The boys behaved really well. So well, in fact, that they’ve somehow conned me into taking them bowling on Sunday. Ugh.

    Hugs back!
    Renee

  4. Renee George Says:

    Lexxie!

    I soo know what you mean. I will have to hurt FOX if House goes. Although, I wasn’t super happy with the season finale. Oy. House needs his Wilson. *grin*

    Miss you heaps back! You know you should be sending me updated pics of Sweet pea and Chickpea, right? LOL.

    Love ya!
    Renee

  5. quinjames Says:

    *giggle*

    It still cracks me up how close we are in book taste


Leave a Reply

