A June Wrap Up (Warning, I went on a little rant).

(I apologize ahead of time for any bad grammar, punctuation, repetative words, and thoughts that are not well thought out, I’m tired people and in the mood to rant a little.)

 

I remember when I was growing up, I thought that by the year 2000 we’d be colonizing planets, all cars would be hover cars and ran on cleaner energy, that was, of course, barring nuclear Armageddon. You know us 80’s kids, we lived under constant fear that someone would push the red button, and KABOOM. The Day After people, that’s all I’m saying. The Day After. Oy.

 

Well, I’m sad to say we as a civilization have not come nearly as far as I thought we would, but happy to report that at least we haven’t blown ourselves up, yet. I guess what I’m getting at is, why oh why does the “moral majority” of society continue to dictate to a minority of people who in turn aren’t allowed a voice.

 

Let me start with a few notions: Do you think that women would have waited so long to have the right to vote if it hadn’t been for the fact that the constituents voting were all men? How about African Americans? Yeah, sure there was something about them being able to vote after the civil war ended (1865), but the “white moral majority” made it next to impossible for many of them (especially in the southern states) to actually vote (based on literacy) until after the civil rights movement in the 60’s.

 

So I say, is it right for a “moral majority of heterosexuals” to determine what homosexuals rights are? I don’t think so. It’s freaking nuts to think that we have another minority out there without a voice. I mean, fine, if it’s an issue that affects all of us, like tax increases, gun legislation, education bills, etc. A majority vote is in order. But what does two same sex partners wanting to have a legally binding wedlock have anything to do with heterosexuals.

 

Nothing.

 

You know, the big argument for this issue seems to be “a marriage is between a man and woman.” So, then I say, “why?” and the answer I get in return is, “because it’s in the bible.” So, then I say, “I thought there was a separation of church and state?” And I get back a, “it’s between a man and woman, under god, because that’s the way it’s always been.” So then I turn around and say, “well, slavery used to be an accepted practice. Not allowing women to vote or own property and stuff used to be an accepted practice. Heck, in some parts of the world, both things still are acceptable. So it seems to me that view points about what’s right and what’s wrong shift with the wind.” Then I get the “you’re nuts,” look. *sigh*

 

Okay, well, say I’m an atheist, and I get married by a judge, and I tell him to leave god completely out of it. Does that mean, even though I’m a woman, married to a man, that I’m not really married since I have taken god completely out of the equation?

 

I don’t know. I think I’m walking a thin line here.

 

Needless to say, I think this whole hoopla about gay marriages is just another way for people to go unrepresented within their own system of government. I personally think the whole marriage thing being a legally binding contract should go away. Anyone who wants to be bound to someone by law should be able to go down to the courthouse, fill out the paper work, file it, and voila, bound. Then, if they want to do a more conventional wedding, they can have their preist, their best-friend, or even their dog marry them.

 

Much love to my gay and lesbian friends/ family who are dear to me (you know who you are), and much love to the heterosexuals who love you back. 🙂 I think it’s nice that June is pride month, but I feel the pride for you all, all year long.  It’s late, and I’m probably not making a lot of sense, but I hope I am. Other than that, I apologize for getting political. I hate politics really, but not nearly as much as I hate bigotry and extremists (and that’s on all issues!).

 

Oh, and Changeling Press is offering a nice 10% discount on their books until the end of this month (which means you have one day left, lol). Sorry. They have a nice selections of GLBT titles. Go check them out.

 

Use the discount code GLBT2008 on any order between now and the end of the month and you’ll get 10% off your order — PLUS 10 winners will get a free PDF copy of Ann Vremont’s Wolf  Dance! Just buy any new release or GLBT theme book and enter the discount code GLBT2008  to receive 10% off your entire order and a chance to win a free book!

www.changelingpress.com

 

Oh, and a quick shout out to some gay themed movies and television I like. I’m a sucker for happy endings, so :p~~ here are my movie recommendations: Shelter (a new favorite!), Latter Days, All Over the Guy, Just a Question of Love, Adam and Steve (friggin’ hilarious), A Home at the End of the World (much better than I thought it would be), and Guys and Balls.  On television: Verboten Liebe (German soap – love Christian and Ollie), Brothers and Sisters, Skins, and As If.

 

Hugs, peace, and love,

Renee (who should have kept it light and fluffly)

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Books, discount, family, Friends, GLBT, LGBT, life, movies, politics, Pride, television

One Comment on “A June Wrap Up (Warning, I went on a little rant).”


Leave a Reply

