OMG – An American Hero – Jason Lezak!!!

I am a huge fan of the Olympics. I have been for as long as I can remember. I have been looking forward to them all year long, and I have to say, I have not been disappointed!

I just finished watching the Mens 400 freestyle relay (I’d Tivo’d the Olympics and avoided watching or reading any news) and let me tell you. I thought I was going to have a heart attack! I watched it because of Phelps. He’s an exciting swimmer, going for a record breaking 8 gold medals in this years Summer Olympics. Woot! I stayed in the race for Jason Lezak. The 32 year old swimmer who had the last leg of the race.

People, it seriously looked like all the bragging the French were doing about “smashing” the Americans was not all smoke. The French swimmer Bernard was nearly a full body length ahead of Lezak going into the final 100. At the turn, it wasn’t getting any better.

Then suddenly, the last 50 meters, Lezak incredibly started gaining on Bernard. The announcers were going wild and my heart was thumping in my chest, as the oldest dude on the swimming team became neck in neck with the old World Record holder.

Lezak touched the finish an eighth one-hundredths of a second AHEAD of Bernard for a history making split time of 46.06 seconds. HOLY COW!! I screamed, did a little happy dance, and made my kid watch it again with me. The Americans won Gold, and the French had to settle for Silver. Let me tell you, they looked damn near like they would throw up. Especially with all the smack they’d been talking this week. 🙂

In that moment, Jason Lezak was the sexiest thing I’ve ever seen in or out of the water. Congratulations Team USA, and major kudos to Jason Lezak for a fan-fucking-tastic race!

Renee

Explore posts in the same categories: 2008 Olympics, Jason Lezak, Michael Phelps

Leave a Reply

